3 Authors I Loved As A Tween | Random

randomness-3


As a tween my taste in books were parallel. I’d stick to one author/genre for long periods of time and not explore the universe that is books. Nevertheless, I figured a post   concentrated around the tween years would be both nostalgic and fun, so here we go.

Meg Cabot

cabot_4

Ah, Meg Cabot. When I was 12 her novels gave me life! You’d never get a typical world with Ms. Cabot. Although contemporary, the world she built was always fun and exciting, with a splash of drama. Whether you were the girlfriend of the President’s son, perhaps an unknown princess unprepared to even sit on a porcelain throne, maybe even the reincarnation of an old Arthurian tale – you’d never be bored! I remember the very first book I read by her – All-American Girl – and how much I enjoyed it so I ran out and borrowed the next and anything and everything by her. My favorite series would probably be The Mediator, but 1-800-Where-R-You is up there too.

The books I’ve read:

  1. The Princess Diaries (The Princess Diaries, #1)
  2. Princess in the Spotlight (The Princess Diaries, #2)
  3. All-American Girl (All-American Girl, #1)
  4. Ready or Not (All-American Girl, #2)
  5. Shadowland (The Mediator, #1)
  6. Ninth Key (The Mediator, #2)
  7. Reunion (The Mediator, #3)
  8. Darkest Hour (The Mediator, #4)
  9. Haunted (The Mediator, #5)
  10. Twilight (The Mediator, #6)
  11. Avalon High
  12. The Boy Next Door (Boy, #1)
  13. Teen eIdol 
  14. When Lightning Strikes (1-800-Where-R-You, #1)
  15. Code Name Cassandra (1-800-Where-R-You, #2) 
  16. Safe House (1-800-Where-R-You, #3) 
  17. Sanctuary (1-800-Where-R-You, #4) 
  18. Missing You (1-800-Where-R-You, #5) 

 

Sarah Dessen

55f0a835e56f4-image

Sarah Dessen was a staple for me. Her novels brought out the romantic (although, I must say, I’m not romantic at all) in me, as well as cultivated my mind for more adult romance. My first book by her was Along for the Ride and I had never read fictional realism before this book, so I really enjoyed it. After that I got really into her novels and just started reading them really fast.

The books I’ve read:

  1. Along for the Ride
  2. The Truth About Forever
  3. Just Listen
  4. This Lullaby
  5. That Summer
  6. Someone Like You
  7. Lock and Key
  8. How to Deal

Susane Colasanti

susane2_crc3a9dito20jayd20gardina

Yes, I’ve only read three books by her, but she was a staple during my tween years. Her books introduced me to multi-POVS and I just loved it! During that time she actually hadn’t written that many novels, but when I discovered Ms. Colasanti I was already moving towards Amanda Quick and historical fiction.

The books I’ve read:

  1. When It Happens
  2. Take Me There
  3. Waiting For You

 


That’s it for me. I know Harry Potter was a big deal then (still is) but, unfortunately, I didn’t discover that series until much later on. Do you have any staple authors you read during your tween/teen years?

23 thoughts on “3 Authors I Loved As A Tween | Random

  1. Morgan | Backlist Babe says:

    I completely forgot about Avalon High until just now… I feel like Meg Cabot was one of those authors that I kept picking up books for in my tween year, but I can’t remember a single thing I’ve read by that woman. I hadn’t really heard about Sarah Dessen until this past year in the book blogging world. And I’ve never heard of Susan Colasanti. Might have to check her out (when I’m feeling like the tween me on the inside).

    Don’t feel too bad about that Harry Potter thing. I didn’t “discover” it until WAY later… and still haven’t read it. Whoops.

    Oh, I had quite a few tween staples. Most notably: Holly Black (seriously anything she wrote, I was trying to reading), Amelia Atwater-Rhodes, and Christopher Pike #ForeverBaes

    • Codie @Reader's Anonymous says:

      Just realized WordPress never sent my reply 😒- so sorry about this terrifyingly late reply. Avalon High was definitely a filler novel lol. I really love anything King Arthur which is the only reason I even remember it, but definite filler. Hehe, she was your forgettable author? I have one of those. Yeah, only when you’re in your tween phase because Colasanti writes kinda juvenile books. Did you plan to read any books by Dessen?

      *wiped brow* okay good. I always kinda shyly admit that I didn’t start reading Harry Potter until my late teens. Hahaha don’t let the potterheads catch you – they’re freaking ruthless, probably start sending you all the installments. Ooh I don’t think I’ve ever read anything by any of those authors, makes me feel inadequate af lol. Are they good beyond juvenile?

  2. mudandstars says:

    Ahh I love Meg Cabot. I used to be absolutely obsessed with The Princess Diaries as a teenager, and I loved All American Girl too. I never got round to reading the Mediator series though unfortunately! x

    • Codie says:

      Me too! I think All American Girl still remains a favorite out of her many books. Aww it’s a shame you never got around to The Mediator series, they were so great! Did you read the sequel to AAG? Always great to see fellow fans 🙂

      • mudandstars says:

        I did indeed read the sequel 🙂 I can’t remember much about it, but I can remember people being all shocked because she lost her virginity in the book (at least I think it was that book?!), and at the time there weren’t many YA books depicting sex at all. I unfortunately don’t have copies of those books any more, but I’d love to re-read them. I still have all my Princess Diaries books though, I can never part with them! And I guess there’s still time for me to give The Mediator series a go 🙂 Changing the subject slightly, but still related to your post, I have still never read a Sarah Dessen book. Which was your favourite?

      • Codie says:

        Yeah that sounds about right. Plus she was constantly thinking about sex – like the entire book – which wasn’t common. But it’s really nothing compared to Laura Ruby’s book Good Girls (it was…alot for a YA novel) the Gingerbread series by Rachel Cohn, but I guess people didn’t read those lol. Haha I understand – some books are just too sentimental to let go, even if you don’t read them often. Ooooh, my favorite is Just Listen. OMG I LOVED that book! Owen was just the best. This actually wasn’t my first book by her either (it was Along for the Ride) but till this day I love and remember everything about that book. I’d read that one first if I were you 🙂

      • mudandstars says:

        Yesss I remember it being a bit controversial back in the day! I’ve not heard of Good Girls and the Gingerbread series, are they worth me checking out? Ahhh awesome, in that case I will make sure I make Just Listen my first Sarah Dessen read- I’ve heard good things about it! And it’s reassuring the love interest was good, as that’s the determining factor in whether I enjoy YA romance (I usually don’t now unfortunately!) xx

      • Codie @Reader's Anonymous says:

        They’re nothing to run home about lol. I remember the Gingerbread series being fun and hippyish. It was different at the time. Good Girls was a bit more…explicit in its content matter. It was about a girl that gets photographed while in a compromising position and the backlash she received from it. They’re both interesting but in very different ways. Yay!!! Trust me, you’ll be loving Owen the moment you meet him. Ah, that makes sense and you’d probably end up disliking a lot of them then.

  3. Ann says:

    I love Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot! I have a few of Susane Colasanti that I haven’t read yet but I want to soon! Whenever Sarah Dessen has a book release, it’s a must buy for me!

    • Codie says:

      Aren’t they just marvelous?! Susane Colasanti had some great books, well from the three I’ve read haha. Which books do you have? Haha, glad to see you’re still going strong with Dessen!

  4. Liam @ Hey Ashers! says:

    Heck yes, Meg Cabot! The Mediator series is amazing, and I really need to get my hands on the more recent installments to see where Suze and Jesse ended up. Actually, I think I’ll reread the series first, then hunt the new stories down. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Codie says:

      Isn’t it! Ugh, I remember loving them so much. Ditto that, it’s exciting, revisiting that world again and just getting a dose of Suze and Jesse again. That’s actually a really good idea, I might do the same. Haha, I’m glad I could inspire 🙂

Leave a Reply

