The This Is My Genre Tell Me Yours Book Tag | Random

thisismtgenrenrwlogo

 

Tis’ the season to post every single day, starting – NOW!

This wonderful tag was created by the big bad (you know where I’m going with this) Drew@ TheTattoedBookGeek. Huge thank you to the the orang-utan librarian and icebreaker694 for tagging me; also, don’t forget to check out their answers because they’re great!

The Rules:

  • Credit my bad bad self Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek as the creator of the tag, use the created tag name graphic and link back to my blog.
  • Answer the questions
  • Tag as many people as you want.
    No long list, simple really!

 

What’s your favorite genre?

Movie-books. I know this answer is totally a cheat answer and I should be disqualified, but I don’t necessarily have a favorite genre. Therefore, I decided to be unorthodox and just throw this genre (non-genre) out there because it’s a combination of a vast amount of genres. However, some might not consider it a genre…

fight-club

 

Who’s your favorite author from the genre?

Um, I don’t think this question has a fair answer because of my chosen genre. But for the sake of answering I’m going to choose:

My selection of these two authors is based solely on how wonderfully their storied adapted to the big screen.

 

What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back?

I enjoy being a vagabond regarding book genres. Movie-books give me that freedom, while also allowing me to compare them to the movies – it’s fun. But I must reiterate, I don’t sojourn with any particular genre, which is even true for this one.

What’s the book that started your love for your favorite genre?

jumper-movie-poster-side

The first movie-book book I read was Jumper by Steven Gould. I remember loving the movie (yes, I know) and later learning it was based off the novel Jumper. With this information stored away, I went out and bought the book. Read it. And my first observation was, “The fuck am I reading! None of this happened in the movie!” But then I completed it and came to the realization that I enjoyed both the movie and the book equally, although they were immensely different. It was then that I concluded to seek out movies turned into books more often, until it just became a thing.

If you had to recommend at least one book from your favorite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading that genre, what book would you choose and why?

Therein lies the beauty of the movie-book genre (or non-genre) because there’s not such thing as the right or wrong book! Whatever movies or tv shows you enjoy are most likely adapted from books, so you can take those and explore that on the page. My only suggestion would be to pick a movie you enjoy immensely to read.

 

Why do you read?

Escapism was my original motive, but as I’ve matured, so has my understanding of the reasons. I’ve come to realize my pleasure of reading is purely the enjoyment of imagination and exploration. I cannot go to Mars, but with The Martian I can experience  living there, surviving is an adventure, a discovery, a challenge that mere mortals could never ascend to. That’s why I read, not to escape – although at times that is my motive – but to explore and capture a moment in time that I’d most likely never explore otherwise.

 

132927-i-want-to-go-to-there-gif-tumb-8lr3


I tag:

Alex

Rachel

betwixt-the-pages

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “The This Is My Genre Tell Me Yours Book Tag | Random

    • Codie says:

      No problem! Wasn’t it good! People tend to laugh at my love of that movie, but its good haha. If you ever decide to read the book just know it’s literally nothing like the movie – you get Davy and his childhood crush Millie, and Teleportation but that’s about it.

  1. Transhaan says:

    Great answers and awesome choice. I do enjoy comparing the books to the adaptation. So many ways to adapt a book and so many ways to tell a story! Although finding out that A LOT of movies I want to watch are based on books burdens me with so many books to read before the movie! That is an oath that one should not make. 😛

    – Lashaan

    • Codie says:

      Thank you 🙂 That’s very true. Most adaptations vary from the book, but that doesn’t necessarily make it bad. There’s also the ability to translate the story properly with the right amount of emotional connection to everything while still maintaining the essence of the novel. Haha, if an oath is made, just know it shall be broken. For me, that’s the major downside to the book-to-movie genre; so many movies, so many books, so little time.

    • Codie says:

      Thank you! Oh I can’t wait until you read it! It’s so fun to see/read people’s reaction to the book after watching the movie – they’re always comical. I’m glad you understood, I kinda thought I was talking myself into a corner there, haha.

  2. Pingback: Updates | Random

Leave a Reply

