The Book Theme Meme

The Book Theme Meme is a weekly meme that pairs books and music hosted by Lila. If you want to participate, here’s what to do:

  • Link back to the originator (Lila @ The Bookkeeper’s Secrets)
  • Choose a book or series
  • Choose a song that you feel represents the book (fyi: it doesn’t have to have words, it can be classical or score)
  • Tell us what about the song reminds you of the book. Is it a particular lyric/s? Is it the general feeling of the song? Explain a little.
  • Add your name, blog, and link to your post in the comments!
  • Voila! You’re done!

 Jane & Beneath Your Beautiful

“Beneath Your Beautiful” by Labrinth ft. Emeli Sandé, paired with Jane by Michelle N. Onuorah. Both are about revealing yourself to a person you love, while also seeing the truth behind your emotional mask of indifference. It’s a love story about healing and finding you, without losing the ones you love. The song goes:

“You tell all the boys ‘No’
Makes you feel good, yeah.
I know you’re out of my league
But that won’t scare me away, oh, no”

“You’ve carried on so long,
You couldn’t stop if you tried it.
You’ve built your wall so high
That no one could climb it,
But I’m gonna try”

Jane’s character was emotionally distant from everything and everyone. After the horrible childhood she endured, nothing seemed to satisfy her in life – having a master’s degree, being a professor in her 20’s, being stable, etc. – there was always something missing. There was also her lackluster relationships that she could never muster the care to, well, care.

Enters Aiden, who believes he sees himself in her, with her fake smiles and sadness that lurks beneath the depths of her eyes. Although he has his own issues, he decides to win Jane over and infiltrate her iron-chained walls.

“Would you let me see beneath your beautiful?
Would you let me see beneath your perfect?
Take it off now, girl, take it off now, girl
I wanna see inside
Would you let me see beneath your beautiful tonight?”

The chorus is indicative of what I just described above. He’s trying to see the real her and not the mask that she wears as armor.

“Would you let me see beneath your beautiful?
Would you let me see beneath your perfect?
Take it off now, boy, take it off now, boy
I wanna see inside
Would you let me see beneath your beautiful tonight, oh, tonight?”

However, Jane isn’t the only one hiding. Aiden is also hiding –  he hates his job and the man he’s become.

“I’m gonna climb on top your ivory tower
I’ll hold your hand and then we’ll jump right out
We’ll be falling, falling but that’s OK
‘Cause I’ll be right here
I just wanna know”

….

“We ain’t perfect, we ain’t perfect, no.
Would you let me see beneath your beautiful tonight?”

The ending is really about them finding solace in the Creator and not being afraid to love one another without walls, without barriers, without a net, but just with the full ability of their hearts. It’s a beautiful song and a beautiful book.

Leave a Reply

