The Monday Musts: #2

The Monday Musts is a weekly meme hosted by Jessica at Lovin’ Los Libros in which we talk about our must reads, must listens, and must sees of the week!

MUST READS

Three enticing novels!

 The Knife of Never Letting Go – older, but I read it this year and fell in love.

The Young Elites – great book

Shadowshaper – diverse and informative about colorism, gentrification and political issues  with a dosage of fantasy.

MUST LISTEN

I previously wrote a short post about the racial issues that are currently happening in the United States. Since there have been more incidents of police brutality and unprovoked killings of black people, along with the killing of police officers in retaliation, since that post I felt this song would be perfect. This song just embodies the black male mind, in my opinion.

MUST SEE

the-get-down

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!! I LOVE this show! I’ve watched it at least 40 times.

The Get Down doesn’t get a lot of love or recognition compared to other shows on Netflix, but  it’s amazing! The story takes place in the late 1970’s in the birth place of Hip Hop: Bronx, New York (It’s a borough so technically I wrote that wrong).

I gotta be honest, it took me forever to watch this show. I added it to my list on Netflix but kind of forgot about it. There was Daredevil, Jessica Jones, and so many other Netflix originals I was watching that I kept bypassing this one. However, once I finally watched it I was transfixed!

This series is so wonderfully done. It’s about a lot of things, love, loss, leadership, music, social issues (that are still happening today), race, politics, history, and anything else you can imagine.

 I recently began listening to hip hop/rap this year. I remember the days where it felt like I was the only black person alive (that I knew) that enthralled by it, but this year has been my awakening to this beautiful, poetic art form of expression. And I don’t mean “mainstrem” rap which is truly garbage,  (I know why I never listened to it) but the hip hop that sparks social change and speaks on truly important issues and struggles.

This show won’t be for everyone – it’s very musical and mostly centered around disco and hip hop (for season 1 at least) – but I think everyone should give it a try before counting it out. It’s also overflowing with diversity of black and Latina characters. The main cast members are:

Justice Smith (played in Paper Towns as Radar – isn’t he cute)

Shameik Moore (played in Dope lead character)

Jaden Smith

Jimmy Smits

Yahya Abdul-Mateen II

Herizen Guardiola
It’s such a fun show:

Set in the late 1970s, when New York was at the brink of bankruptcy and disco was dying out, the rise of hip-hop is told through the lives, art, music and dance of a group of young people in the South Bronx. Also includes elements of the 70’s: Star Wars, Kung Fu, etc.

 

4 thoughts on “The Monday Musts: #2

Leave a Reply

