Burn Rewrite Reread

burn rewrite reread.png

Thanks so much Orang-utan Librarian for tagging me for this fun tag! Please, Please, Please (!), check out her blog, it’s amazing!

Rules:

  • Randomly choose 3 books (Tip: Use the “Sort > Random” option on your Goodreads’ Read shelf- or you can just make my mistake, waste time writing loads of titles on bits of paper and pick them at random).
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread
  • Repeat until you completed three rounds (or 9 in my case, cos I didn’t read the rules before starting).

Round 1

Goodreads couldn’t have chosen books any older…

burn

Bounce by Natasha Friend – I read this book a minimum of 5 years ago, so I don’t really remember much about it except it being a waste of time.

rewrite

The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks – Yeah, replacing the cheese and sap would’ve made this book so much better.

Reread

London Calling by Edward Bloor – I don’t know if I’d necessarily reread this but it was better than the two other options. Having read this book a minimum of 6 years ago, I don’t know if my reaction to this book would be the same as 12 year old Codie, but I can say it was my intro to Time Travel and Historical Fiction.

WTF…?

burn

Sixteen Going on Undead by Yvette Ford – Do editors not exist, or 9th grade English class? Do Plots not matter? Character development? Storyline? Overall common sense? It’d appear from reading this book that the world went off its axis for a few moments because I was baffled by this ludicrous creation.

rewrite

Song of Blood & Stone by L. Penelope – This book had so(ooooooo) much potential that was waiting to explode from the page. Historical fiction/fantasy/alternate history, funky fusion – ahhh it could’ve been AMAZING.

Reread

Me, Penelope by Lisa Clough – Here’s the thing, I wouldn’t actually reread this, but I wouldn’t rewrite it (it wasn’t about anything), yet I wouldn’t burn it over the other book. This leaves me in an awkward position…I guess reread.

burn

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld – This is mainly due the sequal, Pretties. I didn’t hate Uglies – I actually enjoyed it – but it wasn’t amazing and Pretties was such a disappointment I didn’t see the point in rewriting it.

rewrite

Game by Barry Lyga – The decision to choose this to rewrite was difficult, but I didn’t like how predictable the book was. I figured out the surprise at the end in the beginning. Plus, there wasn’t enough Howie, Connie was being stupid 80% of the time, and the killers weren’t very clever. However, I did really like this book and think those tweaks would make it AMAZING (haha, that’s the second time I’ve done that).

Reread

Impossible by Nancy Werlin – I remember loving this book when I was younger. It was so dark and different from my usual fantasy that I fell in love. Not sure if I’d feel the same way now, though.

 

I’m positive Goodreads hates me. All of the books, minus Game and Song of Blood & Stone, were read 5+ years previous.

I tag:

icebreaker694

Paper Dragon

Mud and Stars

If you’d like to be tagged just comment below 🙂

10 thoughts on “Burn Rewrite Reread

  1. mudandstars says:

    Thanks for the tag – this looks fun! I completely agree with you about The Notebook. Although there is a part of me that appreciates the cheesy romance on some level haha. I prefer the film to the book (although there are definitely plenty of sappy moments in that too). I’ve read Uglies, but I’ve never read any of the sequels. Sounds like they might not be worth my time? Out of interest, what was so bad about the second book? (I’m intrigued!) 🙂

    • Codie says:

      You’re welcome – it is 😀 Haha, yeah the film was better for me too; there was just something about the movie that outdid the book, possibly the cheesy internal thoughts that were omitted. To be honest I don’t remember much about Pretties, besides the fact that I didn’t finish it of course, so I can’t give a shmoop answer when it comes to analysis haha, but I can tell you the pacing was terrifying slow! After finishing book one I was excited to see what happened to our heroine but my interest dampened at the turn of each page. Besides that I can’t remember (ugh, that frustrating!), I’m sorry 😦

      • mudandstars says:

        Haha yeah, I think you’re right – cheesy internal thoughts are the worst thing about romance novels. I cringe so hard. Romance has to be well done and non-cheesy for me to enjoy it! Ahh I think the slow pace of Pretties would irritate me – I get so frustrated by novels where nothing happen for the first 200 pages. It instantly puts me off a book.

      • Codie says:

        Me too! That’s why The Maze Runner would have been harder if not for watching the movie previously. Pretties is similar in its snail pace – boring.

        Haha, that’s very true. Sometimes the characters are thinking the most cliche things and it’s just eye roll worthy. Especially Sparks; his characters talk like a modern day Victorian poet sometimes.

  2. icebreaker694 says:

    Thanks for the tag! I haven’t read The Uglies at all, I wasn’t sure if it’s a good read or not. But since you’re willing to reread it maybe it’s not so bad. 🙂

      • Codie says:

        Haha, no problem. I wouldn’t recommend it but I’ve grown a lot since I read that, so maybe that’s why. If you like the blurb then you should read it, maybe you’ll enjoy it 🙂 Oh thank you! That means a lot 😀

    • Codie says:

      I know I’m super late, sorry! For some reason there’s like this whole section of comments I didn’t see. Anywho, Uglies wasn’t bad, however, Book was snore worthy and I didn’t even read book 2. If you do decide to give it a go I’d love to read your review!

  3. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    Aww thanks so much for your kind words! I’ve only seen the Notebook movie and I’m afraid I’m not a fan- I’d take out a lot more than just the sap- I’d take out the guy she cheats on cos I am so not cool with that!! I’ve not read many of the books on this list- but I know for certain I will avoid reading Sixteen going on Undead- that sounds really bad!!!Oh my gosh I hated the Uglies series- I agree with you about the first one, but the series went downhill (also saying “bubbly- was that the dumb phrase?- all the time made me want to punch them :/ ) Glad you did this- I enjoyed your post!!!

Leave a Reply

