Book Sacrfice Tag

I was tagged to do this ages ago – I suck. The orang-utan librarian had the best responses to these questions, go check hers out right now! Thanks so much for the tag – let’s begin!

An Over-Hyped Book:

Situation: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked do you start chucking at the zombies?

6442769

I’m going to cheat and steal orang-utan librarian’s author by choosing Paper Towns.   Paper Towns was not a profound coming-of-age story or mystery; it was a novel featuring a teenage girl who wants attention, and a superficial, selfish boy giving her just that – my review. Chuck away.

A Sequel:

Situation: torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

14759651

 

 

Praying for rain, hail, snow isn’t something I commonly do, however if it means utilizing this book as protection from the elements then I’m all for it! Emerald Green was like a FOIL of book one; it was a tragedy. Anti-climatic conclusion, horrible heroine that cried every page, and a seriously fucked up villain – fucked up because he’s awful (not in a good way).

A Classic:

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

51533

 

 

 

Surprisingly I couldn’t think of many classic novels that were dissatisfying, but Sons And Lovers would definitely be my choice. D.H. Lawrence is a great writer but his narcissistic view of his own life wasn’t very beguiling. Dude, your life was boring! Review

A Least Favorite Book:

Situation: apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

10757833

Fuck you 🙂

“Let an earthquake crumble it, let the fires rage, let it burn to fucking ash and then let the waters rise and submerge this whole rat-infested place.” – Monty Brogan, 25th Hour (MOVIE)

That pretty much sums it up. Review.

I tag:

Freadom Library

Paper Dragon

Trust in the Words

 

14 thoughts on “Book Sacrfice Tag

  1. jessreadingnook says:

    Haha, this is great. The only one I’ve read on here is Paper Towns…I did read Beautiful Creatures though and I didn’t like it enough to continue with the series. :/

    • Codie says:

      Thank you 😀 You were wise to not continue the Beautiful Creatures series – I was fooled into liking the first book but the ones after that were terrible.

  2. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    Haha loved your answers!! Yes definitely chuck away all of John Green’s books (gosh I could so easily get a lot of hate for that) Ugh Emerald Green sounds terrible!! I’ve not read it- and after your description of it- I’m not gonna!! Oh my gosh I agree so much- I really didn’t like Sons and Lovers- which is weird cos I thought the writing was kind of beautiful. But I agree, his books are boring- that’s the only one of his I’ve actually managed to finish :/ And I really didn’t like the plot of that one- too much of it turned my stomach :/ hahahaha absolutely loved what you said about Beautiful chaos (another series I won’t be bothering with- ever!)

    • Codie says:

      Thank you 😀 Haha, you’re safe here – well from me at least – because I totally get your dislike. Trust me, Emerald Green is worse than terrible. You’re right, it was beautifully written, but soooooooo boring and just weird. I was gonna give The Rainbow a try but I’m a bit skeptical. Haha, thank you 🙂 I had just got finished watching 25th Hour and I remembered his monologue and thought it befitted my thoughts about this book. But you’re so lucky you didn’t waste your time on this one. That’s time of my life I can’t get back 😥

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        hahaha well that’s good at least! The internet is a dangerous place when it comes to John Green fans :p
        Oh dear- glad I haven’t read it!
        I know right- it’s a shame it’s so dull. I picked up the Rainbow years ago- I didn’t finish it- I got too bored :/
        haha I’m so glad I didn’t bother with that series either!

      • Codie says:

        It’s very dangerous, especially with them lurking in every corner :p

        Haha, you’ve saved yourself many things; mainly time and energy caring.

        It’s a horrible shame! Nobody wants to read a boring book that just drags on about nothing, even if the topics are interesting (Odepius Rex syndrome).

Leave a Reply

