Around the World in YA Books Tag

Thank you Mud & Stars for tagging me in this awesome book tag! After going through the books I’ve read, I’m ashamed to admit I haven’t read many novels, especially in YA, that take place overseas besides England. So, my tags are a mixture of YA, Middle Grade, Historical Fiction, Romance, Multicultural, etc.. So let’s get started.

 

Entwined by Cheryl S. Ntumy  – Botswana

The entire Conyza Bennett series is actually set in Botswana.

Destino by Sienna Mynx – Italy

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Gold – Japan

AJ’s Serendipity by Savannah J. Frierson  – Greece

The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross  – England

I’ve read sooooooo many books set in the England, so I just chose to showcase this one because it’s YA.

Déjà Dead by Kathy Reichs – Canada

Night by Elie Wiesel – Poland

Macbeth by William Shakespeare – Scotland

It’s crazy how limited my settings are! This was insightful and I tag anyone interested in participating.

 

14 thoughts on “Around the World in YA Books Tag

  1. mudandstars says:

    Thanks for doing the tag! Wow Botswana, that’s an awesome setting for a book. Was the series good? I just looked them up on Goodreads and the first book sounds fun 🙂 I really want to read Memoirs of a Geisha too, definitely on my reading list this year. Love Macbeth!

    • Codie says:

      Thank you for tagging me – it was very fun! It was very cool, although the setting wasn’t described as thoroughly as I would’ve liked. The trilogy was soooo good and had a lot African mythology involved which was new for me. Memoirs of a Geisha was a wonderful book! It was one of the first adult books I read and I was blown away. Macbeth was one of the best!!

      • mudandstars says:

        Awesome, the mythology aspect sounds really interesting – will definitely check those out! Glad you enjoyed Macbeth too – did you see the recent film adaptation of it? It was excellent – & v. creepy!

      • Codie says:

        I thought so too, it’s very cool – I’m sure you’ll enjoy it if you do! Oh yes, Macbeth was great but sadly I haven’t seen the movie 😦 I LOVE Michael Fassbender so I have no excuse but the book was creepy too – was it creepier?

      • mudandstars says:

        He was great in the movie, although he did have a bit of a mumbling issue with some of the dialogue haha. I found it creepier than reading the play – I’m not sure why – I think maybe just the way it was shot and the music they used made it seem even darker.

      • Codie says:

        Wow, to make Macbeth darker is a talent lol. Haha, he tends to do that in his movies but I’m glad it was good because Macbeth was a wonderful book.

Leave a Reply

