Haul + Upcoming Reviews + Other Stuff

I’ve been MIA for the past few days, and I’m so sorry for not posting anything. With work, school, reading, and shopping – I’ve been so busy that it wasn’t even possible to post. But I’m back, with some stellar (yup, I used that word) treats!

*Warning: This post is going to be long because I have so much to catch you guys up on (Back out now if you don’t want to read the blabbing this post entails)

So, let’s get started!

Books I’ve Recently Finished, Therefore I Am Going To Be Reviewing

I’ve actually read more books than the titles listed above, however these were the select few that deserve a full review.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner (YA)

Ballers: His Game by Blue Saffire (Multicultural/New Adult)

Honored (The TΓ©-trad Tale #2) by M. A. Wilder (Sorta YA, Sorta Paranormal)

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Book 1) by Douglas Adams (Science Fiction)

 

Haul – New and Goodwill Books

Being relatively shameless, I’ve never really felt ashamed (hmm that sounds weird) about buying books. I enjoy reading, browsing and buying books – sue me – but the amount books I bought in less than a week is definitely shameful. My bank account is screaming in protest

http://vignette3.wikia.nocookie.net/glee/images/2/24/Phoebe_stop_the_madness.gif/revision/latest?cb=20140430204252

So, I’ll finally share the books I bought with you…all 42 of them!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Martian by Andy Weir

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

Saga Vol 2. by Brian K. Vaughn & Fiona Staples

Were the only books I bought new, the rest I found at the Goodwill and another second hand store. Oh and there was this novel named 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami that I happened to stumble upon for only $2 dollars. This was an amazing find because I had recently added it to my TBR after it was recommended in Brown Books & Green Tea’s post 7 Books to Get Snowed in WithΒ and I couldn’t resist. I hope you can read all the titles, there was this stupid glare…I’m guessing it was ninja’s (it could happen).

What I’m Reading Now

 

Animal Farm by George Orwell

Which I happen to love right now

The Naughty Sins of a Saint by Tiana Laveen

Which is…not too good

The Air He Breaths by Brittany C. Cherry

Which I am afraid to finish

Paper Towns by John Green

Which I will probably be DNF’ing

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Which I really need to pick up the pace on

Blood of My Blood by Barry Lyga

Which I haven’t read in days, however will start up again soon.

If you’ve read any of these I’d love to read your reviews, but for now, I’m gonna sign off. Happy reading !

 

 

19 thoughts on “Haul + Upcoming Reviews + Other Stuff

  1. jessreadingnook says:

    I recently read The Maze Runner, and I want to read Hitchhiker’s Guide this year, so I can’t wait to see your reviews for those. And 42 books?! That’s amazing! And kind of crazy πŸ˜‰

  2. mudandstars says:

    I love Cinder, hope you get back into it! I want to re-read the series already and I only finished it last month! Animal Farm is a great book. Have you read 1984? I haven’t read Paper Towns but I have dnf’d a couple of John Green books in my time haha!

    • Codie says:

      Me too, with all the stuff going on I haven’t had much time to read it 😦 Oooh, was the entire series good, or just a few of the books? No, this is my first George Orwell book, however I did just buy 1984 (it’s somewhere in there). Animal Farm is amazing so far, although is super short. Yeah, John Green really isn’t for me, although I can’t knock people for liking him – to each his own – but I’m glad I’m not the only person that’s just not a fan of him. I’m going to try The Fault in Our Stars, but I’ll probably stop after that.

      • mudandstars says:

        I know how you feel, I’m struggling with time to read and blog at the moment (hence why all my replies are several days late 😦 ) Yes the whole series is well worth reading – in fact, although I loved Cinder, the series gets better and more epic with every book. 1984 is fantasic, highly recommend it – it’s the first dystopian book I ever read, and one of the best. Funnily enough, The Fault in Our Stars was actually the only one of his books that I read all the way through, and although I haven’t been able to get into any others, I really loved that one (and it made me sob, like, a lot!) I’d definitely recommend giving it a go even if you haven’t liked the other books.

      • Codie says:

        Isn’t it hard?! It makes me wonder how people can read 4-5 books a week and review them – it seems impossible. But that’s wonderful to know! Some series lose their spark as it progresses, but that’s usually when it’s too many added to the series (there have to be like 20 novels in the House of Night series). 1984 is going to be epic, especially since this year I’m trying to read more classic novels – I can’t wait πŸ™‚ I’m glad you enjoyed The Fault in Our Stars, I saw the movie first (big mistake) and Augustus was adorable so, with your recommendation + Augustus I’m going to read it sooner than I anticipated.

      • mudandstars says:

        Right?! I can barely manage to read ONE book in a week, how are these people doing it?! Wow 20 books is a lot for one series – I don’t think I’ve ever read House of Night (are they vampire books? I recognise the title, maybe I have read the first one!) Awww yes, Gus is just as adorable in the books, you are in for some heart-melting!! πŸ™‚

      • Codie says:

        I have no idea, but I need lessons haha. Isn’t that number just unbelievable, and yes it’s about vampires (it was during that vampire era), sadly. They just stopped adding installments to the series – it’s very possible that you’ve read book 1, it was popular for a long time. It’s good to know he’s just as melt-worthy in the book as in the movie πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

