Bad Boy’s Baby by Sosie Frost

280923063.5 stars

★ ★ ★ ★

Star professional quarterback Jack Carson has the worst reputation in the league. He’s arrogant and gorgeous, and if he’s not in bed with a new woman, he’s sleeping off the party in a jail cell.

But now he’s gotten in trouble too many times and needs my help to protect his career. As his publicist, I’ve hidden his dirty exploits and silenced the sexy rumors…but I missed the hottest scandal of the year. Apparently, Jack and I are dating.

When the manwhore lies to the league and claims we’re in a committed relationship, he jeopardizes both our jobs. I can’t trust the tattooed bad boy, but now I’m stuck defending him. I have to make him seem respectable—no matter what.

But his shameful reputation isn’t fixed with a few photos of us on a date. With the league determined to expel him for bad-behavior, Jack has only one option to convince them he’s wholesome, dependable, and responsible.

Jack Carson wants to start a family.

And he’s chosen me to give him the baby.


*Warning: This review will not be like my others, since this is a New Adult novel, I will have adultish comments about it. For once I’m acting my age :d*

Let’s just get this out the way first: Horrible title and terrible blurb.

Now that that’s over, shall we begin?

There was a substantial amount of people who couldn’t even bare the sample, yet along reading the book to completion – I rather enjoyed it. Since I read a fair amount of New Adult novels I switched off my YA mode and switched on my NA mode – this is required – before reading this book. NA novels tend to have seriously cocky and egotistical hero’s that make you want to cut your eyes out from their constant noise of self-praise, and Jack Carson was no different. He’s an egotistical asshole. It’s irrefutable. He parties hard, thinks he’s God’s gift to women, and is a serious manwhore.

“It didn’t matter to me which pussy sat on my cock, just so long as they realized what a goddamned privilege it was to get fucked by me.”

Bad Boy’s Baby, Sosie Frost

Yeah. He’s not a very likable character at first, and you just wish he’d get hit by a car or something (your wish is granted).  Personally, I found his God-Complex rather funny, for three reasons:

  1. I knew it wouldn’t hold out throughout the entire novel
  2. This book wasn’t meant to be taken too seriously
  3. I know this is rather accurate of some professional athletes

There are a significant amount of athletes who feel as though they’re like mortal god’s because of the attention they get thrown their way, and Jack just fit that bill. (I’ve known a few college athletes, so I didn’t just make that up)

“Wasn’t the first time I was compared to a deity. Wouldn’t be the last either.

Bad Boy’s Baby, Sosie Frost”

(Don’t you love proper characterization?)

But, all that partying and whoring is coming back to bite him in the ass because he’s about to be suspended from the NFL. And this is how we meet, Leah, aka Kiss.

Leah isn’t timid, shy, nor does she take Jack’s shit, and being his publicist, this is crucial. She’s a spitfire that handled Jack as if he were anyone on the street, which is why I enjoyed her character so much, along with her drive and determination for her career in PR. So much so that she poses as his girlfriend for him to seem like the loving, supportive boyfriend for the cameras. This is where the story get’s better.

“What if I said that you were my type?”
“Is it supposed to be a compliment?”
“Well…yeah.” Leah smirked. My cock twisted. And she called me trouble.

 Bad Boy’s Baby, Sosie Frost

Their chemistry is pretty great. It’s all sarcasm and beating down his ego with a bat, although it’s undeniable that he’s amazingly sexy and she’s beautiful, but they’re so wrong for each other.

“Leah had hips that shimmied, curves that bumped, tits that plumped, and eyes that would scold a man for ogling the most beautiful creature in the world.”

 Bad Boy’s Baby, Sosie Frost

She’s an organized, sorta-control freak and he’s a go with the moment kind of guy, whose only ambition is to win the Superbowl. The attraction between the two is undeniable, but beyond that, What the hell is there to talk about?

“I wasn’t a complicated beast. I played professional ball for a living and was offered a million dollars to wear a certain brand of shoes. I had no real ambition in life except to win that championship ring.”

Bad Boy’s Baby, Sosie Frost

The relationship starts fast, still slow. Everything is all business except their attraction, yet they don’t do anything about it until much later (in the timeline not the book) of the story.  And slowly you realize while Jack is cocky, he’s also kinda sweet and very funny. Not everyone enjoys the type of humor he has, but I do, it’s so confident and sure, but that’s just to show the world something that’s not true. You’ll come to love his character and the way he treats Leah because the things he does are so…genuine. He’s fierce to defend her even if that means losing his shit, and quick to laugh and joke. You see him grow and change to become something more than just a Bad Boy, but a good, strong man.

“I sent her a dozen roses as an apology after every morning of fucking that made her late to work.”

Bad Boy’s Baby, Sosie Frost

Soon enough they’re a happy couple; well, sorta-pretend couple.

“I finally erupted inside her, but she was the one who tore through my heart, beat at my soul, and rent every muscle that made me stronger, bigger, faster than my opponents.”

Bad Boy’s Baby, Sosie Frost

But with a 3.5 rating there must be something wrong with it right?

Well, of course!

The idea, while cute, is really implausible. I know he’s a highly paid football player and he’s the top client, but if he messes this whole charade up you’ll lose your respect, credibility, and career. For someone as smart as she was it was a stupid move, even if it did make for a fun read. Which also leads me to her second moment of stupidity, agreeing to have a baby with a man you believe to be juvenile, whorish, and egotistical is baffling, even for a PR scam.  What woman in her right mind would agree to a baby because it’s good for his image – I know she wanted a kid but it’s unfathomable. Plus, she was so young to be interested in having children. I believe she’s 24, which in my book, is just too young for kids, especially for a career woman like her.

There was also her having sex with him without protection

https://i0.wp.com/media.tumblr.com/8dd42f7247fb970c1b881164edd66b9a/tumblr_inline_mnadfcLBJu1qz4rgp.gif

She calls him a manwhore, and knows that he’s sleeping with half the city, yet she agrees to have sex with him without doing any type of test, or anything! This made me bump it down a half a star. Although

*Spoiler*

Once she found out she was pregnant, he said:

I held up the three home-pregnancy tests. “It’s true.”His smile only faltered for a split second. “That’s really gross. Drop those before you give me a kiss.”

Bad Boy’s Baby, Sosie Frost

Which was funny.

Overall, I did really enjoy this book. It’s short, sweet, and super funny. So please read past the first chapter, and I promise you won’t be disappointed.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Bad Boy’s Baby by Sosie Frost

  1. jessreadingnook says:

    That blurb is hilarious haha. I haven’t actually read any New Adult books even though I’m in the target age group. The whole genre just confuses me, and I’m sure what to expect from it. But your review has shed a little light on the topic for me.

    • Codie says:

      Haha, New Adult novels aren’t for most people. It pretty much always has a jerky hero, which only appeals to certain people. I’m glad the review gave you a little glimpse of the genre, although I don’t know if I helped deter or persuade you 😀

Leave a Reply

