The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan

26252859

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favor.

But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.


So, Rick Riordan started another Greek Mythology book and nobody told me?! Where the hell have I been? Seriously! Well, regardless of my lateness to this novel I’m still happy I became privy before it came out (May 3). Although I’m looking forward to this, I’m kinda disappointed for two reasons:

A) It’s not going to be an Adult novel. With a century old deity becoming human he’d be very…experienced to be a teenager, he has kids at freaking Camp Half-Blood for gosh sakes! We ALL know how those gods get down, which would’ve made a fun Adult fantasy novel.

B) Hasn’t he been milking the Percy Jackson since, I don’t know, forever! It’s the same character over and over again.

Buuuut I’m still going to read them, and love them, and fangirl them…

9 thoughts on “The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan

  1. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    Okay, this sounds really cool- I’ve not got on the Rick Riordan train yet, but reading the blurb of this is making me think I should’ve read some of this by now. Although, I agree with your point about Apollo being a teenager- it doesn’t make much sense.

    • Codie says:

      I loved the Percy Jackson series! I was going through my mythology stage and his novels just furthered my love for it; so I’d definitely recommend trying those out until this book becomes available. It’s for ages like 9-14, however, it’s still fun. But yeah, him being a teenager – especially under the age of 18 – is not very plausible.

Leave a Reply

