Back to the Classics Challenge 2016 – List

You might remember this challenge from this post. If not, you should go check it out! Anyway, this is my list of novels to read for the challenge, but it could change. Any suggestions for the TBA’s?

A 19th Century Classic

  • Wuthering Heights – Emily Brontë

A 20th Century Classic

  • Sula – Toni Morrison

A classic by a woman author

  • To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

A classic in translation

Les Misérables – Victor Hugo

A classic by a non-white author

  • I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings – Maya Angelou

An adventure classic

  • Peter Pan – J. M. Barrie

A fantasy, science fiction, or dystopian classic

  • TBA

A classic detective novel

  • The Thin Man – Dashiell Hammett

A classic which includes the name of a place in the title

  • Princess of Mars – Edgar Rice Burroughs

A classic which has been banned or censored

  • The Rainbow by D. H. Lawrence (I’m giving you another shot here D. H., don’t let me down)

Re-read a classic you read in school (high school or college).

Again, this wasn’t long ago for me, so I don’t know If I’ll be doing this one.

A volume of classic short stories

  • TBA

 

6 thoughts on “Back to the Classics Challenge 2016 – List

  1. jessreadingnook says:

    I love recommending books so this might be a little obnoxious….

    Science fiction, fantasy, or dystopian:
    1984 by George Orwell or Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury if you want dystopian/science fiction
    The Once and Future King by T.H.White if you want fantasy (it’s about King Arthur)

    For the short stories, I would look for a collection by Ernest Hemingway if you haven’t read a lot by him. I’m biased though because he’s one of my favorite writers. I think the Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury is a collection of short stories, too (that’s what I plan to read for some challenge).

    Anyway, I’m glad To Kill a Mockingbird is on here. I look forward to seeing what you thought about it.

    • Codie says:

      Thanks so much for the recommendations! I completely forgot about 1984 (which has been on my TBR FOREVER), so although I love King Arthur – and every story about him – I’m going with that one. I was so stumped with the short stories one, so I’m glad to have that picked for me and Hemingway is a great choice (even with bias). I’m looking forward to reading To Kill a Mockingbird! So much wonderful feedback from everyone it’s bound to be amazing. Thanks again, Jess 🙂

  2. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    Great post! You could read H G Well’s War of the Worlds or Orwell’s 1984 if you haven’t read them already. I don’t know about a collection of classic stories- maybe try some fairy tales- they’re always fun

Leave a Reply

