The Great Gatsby [Movie]

This is obviously not the first film adaptation of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s, however it is the newest, made in 2013,ย  starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Tobey Maguire.

I’ve seen every Leonardo DiCaprio movie except this one because I was waiting to read the book, but then I read the book and – for some reason – I still haven’t watched it. However, there’s no reason for you to prolong the wait in watching this movie.

The Great Gatsby isn’t my favorite classical novel but I did love the point Fitzgerald was trying to make with this literature.

10 thoughts on “The Great Gatsby [Movie]

    • Codie says:

      Same place I’m at. I did love The Great Gatsby, and I have this suspicious feeling it’s not gonna meet my expectations.

    • Codie says:

      Yes, the book was great.

      So it was a bust!? I love Leo – like everyone else – so it’s sad that this movie just wasn’t enough. Fitzgerald had a very specific style of writing that explained his feelings of America at this time, and I believe selfishness was like his number one thing…does that makes sense? Probably not lol.

      • ebonysmonaesthoughts says:

        Yes Leo was amazing because he will alway be Jack to me(Name that movie?)! That is very true about Fitzgerald, but it’s still prevalent today the selfishness and even more so today. Yes you made sense to me.

      • Codie says:

        Lol, What is…The Titanic! And it really is, which is why that book has remained so popular over the years, unlike other classical novels. But I’m glad my rambling made sense ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Codie says:

        Lol No! I’ve seen the Titanic, I was doing jeopardy. But you’re right it is a classic and tragic ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  1. jessreadingnook says:

    I actually loved the movie. I mean, the movie is never as good as the book, but I loved how it incorporated quotes from the book into the movie, and there were some scenes that were just recreated perfectly. I think the movie really captured the atmosphere of the novel.

    • Codie says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the movie, although now I’m super confused lol. It’s good to know that the atmosphere of the novel was captured in the movie, because that’s what I was afraid would be lacking. There’s so much going on, yet nothing at the same time in the book…but I’m going to take the plunge and watch it. Thanks for push!

Leave a Reply

