Welcome 2016 – Challenges

Reading Challenges Of2016

This post was meant for yesterday, however, I was out partying for dear life, or I forgot, you may select which one you believe. Anyway, Can you believe we’re in the year 2016? I know I don’t. It felt like just two days ago, it was 2015… Ah, such fond memories. This year Reader’s Anonymous is dedicating itself to challenges!  Since last year was a bust for reading (for me) I’ve decided to not leave my reading to chance, but to plan it all out and complete some challenges the entire year, not just for reading but my personal life as well.  I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions because they simply don’t work for me, but a challenge is different and it’ll be fun.

Of course it’s up to you whether or not you decide to participate, but I’d love it if you would! So, these are the challenges laid out for the year:

Reader’s Anonymous 2016 Reading Challenge

chosen challenge image

Obviously I created this, which is why it’s first and because I think it’s one of the best! This challenge isn’t meant for the entire year, but it could last you 12 months if you spaced it out. You’re going to enjoy the books you read, I guarantee  it (do you guys know that commercial?)!

Winter Bookish Bingo hosted by Bekka @ Pretty Deadly Reviews

bookishbingo

This technically isn’t a 2016 challenge but a December – February challenge. This gives you a lot of time to finish it so…go do it.

Back to the Classics Challenge 2016

 

1.  A 19th Century Classic .
2.  A 20th Century Classic
3.  A classic by a woman author.
4.  A classic in translation.
5.  A classic by a non-white author.
6.  An adventure classic
7.  A fantasy, science fiction, or dystopian classic.
8.  A classic detective novel.
9.  A classic which includes the name of a place in the title.
10. A classic which has been banned or censored.
11. Re-read a classic you read in school (high school or college).
12. A volume of classic short stories.

Please go to Books and Chocolate blog in order to receive the rules and detailed information for this challenge.

#ReadMyOwnDamnBooks

Books Read:  0
Books Purchased:  0
This challenge is an awesome way to decrease the amount of unread books in both your real and virtual libraries. This challenge is perfect for me because I have a serious back load of novels to read. It’ll also minimize your TBR since most of your owned novels will be on your TBR shelf.

I found this challenge on Sarah Reads Too Much

#2016DebAuthC Hosted by Jana @ The Artsy Reader Girl

https://i2.wp.com/d.wildapricot.net/images/newsblog/bigstock-red-carpet-unroling-14556224-thumb.jpg

It runs from Jan 1, 2016, and Jan 31, 2017.

This challenge is such a great idea, and allows for reader’s to expand their authors list. It’s hard for new authors to come out and be recognized, so this is a wonderful challenge. You have to list the amount of novels you’ll read and cross list them as you go on. (example: 0/30)

I found this on Molly’s Book Nook, which is awesome BTW.

2016 Popsugar Reading Challenge

https://i0.wp.com/media3.popsugar-assets.com/files/2015/11/24/088/n/1922398/20e491b890bb19b9_PS15_Love_2016ReadingChallenge_Pin_List.jpg

It’s Popsugar’s famous reading challenge! There are some book categories that conflict with the other challenges, so I’d just count them all as one instead reading one for each.

Monthly Keyword Challenge hosted by My Soul Called Life

https://i0.wp.com/weknowyourdreams.com/images/calendar/calendar-09.jpg

Here Are Your 2016 Keywords

JAN- Crowd, Girl, The, Bad, Soul, Soft

FEB- Veil, Kiss, Her, Break, Love, Stars

MAR- Game, Fire, Darkness, School, Like, Change

APR- Far, Life, Stay, One, War, Thorns

MAY- Cure, Trial, Family, Key, Thief, Bend

JUN- Moon, In, Only, Whisper, Sleep, Trap

JUL- Rose, Sun, Clock, Day, Angel, Unto

AUG- Prince, Boy, Glass, Heart, Lost, Now

SEP- Wind, Color, Touch, At, How, Sweet

OCT- Rock, Ghost, Fall, Away, Sky, Storm

NOV- Dream, Holiday, And, Of, Dawn, Beautiful

DEC- End, Promise, Everlasting, Ice, Snow, My

This is a wonderful challenge and will eliminate a lot of books on my TBR! Please go to My Soul Called Life because her site clearly outlines the rules and other important information.

The Readist’s – 2016 Reading Challenge

Reading Challenge 2016

5 non-fiction titles (because I just don’t read enough non-fiction)

5 titles from debut authors (because it’s fun to find a new voice)

2 translated novels (we all need a peek at another’s world view)

2 books from genres you don’t usually read (why not, right?)

2 classics you’ve always meant to read, but never got around to

2 books recommended by a friend of co-worker

2 books or poetry

It’s such a great challenge because it’s a small number of novels to read in categories I don’t read often, so I’m excited!

I found this challenge on The Readist, which is also awesome, so check this out too.

 

2016 Fans of Interracial Romance A to Z Challenge

2016 Fans of Interracial Romance A to Z Challenge

 1 January to 31 December, 2016

A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z

This challenge is simple, spell out A to Z using your interracial romance reading. Click the link for rules and extra information! I’m a huge of multicultural and interracial reads because it allows me to explore books with characters that are similar to me, unlike other novels I read.


This last challenge isn’t for the year but for 2-3 years. It’s long and hard but will be so satisfying to finish.

The Rory Gilmore Challenge

https://paperbackbookaddicts.files.wordpress.com/2016/01/f11d8-rory.png?w=620

The list for this is over 300 books, so I’m not going to list them all. Thus far I’ve read 15 of these books, so YAY!! Now I just have to finish the other 324…do that math 🙂 Anyway, if you’re interested please tell me because that would be awesome to hear – not literally for obvious reasons.

2 thoughts on “Welcome 2016 – Challenges

Leave a Reply

