Chocolat [movie]

https://i2.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41ggJIar5OL._SY355_.jpg

Johnny Depp has been the love of my life forever, not really, but that’s how I felt when I watched this movie, which should explain my love for it. Movies about food just do something to me, maybe it’s because I love to cook but it’s serious with movies like this, Le Chef, Waitress, Ratatouille, etc. This movie has a timeless charm and takes you to the beautiful scenery of France.Β Based on the novel Chocolat by Joanne Harris, which is actually a series, check out the trailer below:

15 thoughts on “Chocolat [movie]

    • Codie says:

      It must’ve been really good then, I really can’t wait to read it. Do you have a review for it? And YES! Johnny Depp can make any movie grand πŸ˜€

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        I don’t sadly, I read that *eons* ago- long before I started blogging and I have no idea where my mum’s copy is now. But I can tell you that it’s really beautifully written, got a great plot and omg the descriptions of food will have you running for some chocolate! (It’s best to have a supply of it on hand) There’s this one scene, you’ll remember from the film, where the guy gorges himself on chocolate- so. much. better. in. the. book! Precisely! πŸ™‚

      • Codie says:

        I love that part of the movie, because it’s like all his want and passion is let out right then. Food can be very sensual so I’m guessing it was just a metaphor. I don’t know though, I tend to make more out of things than what they are – this is the reason I thought Twilight was deep as a child…I’m still ashamed at that.

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        haha that’s not a bad thing- it probably means you’re good at analysis. You’re right- chocolate in the book is kind of a code for illicit pleasures that the priest, and all the catholic inhabitants of the town, are restricting themselves from having. A lot of it is about appearances as well- about what’s really sin- or at least I think so. It’s set during Lent so there’s a lot about that. I dunno if I thought Twilight was deep though- I did used to like it (to my eternal shame!) At least I never went round with a t-shirt shouting “team edward” or “team jacob”- I was well out of it by that stage.

      • Codie says:

        I guess, there was this one time my teacher told me I was reading too much into a book – but she wasn’t a very good teacher. Yes! I enjoy being right. But thanks for the additional info, I can’t wait to read it. Hahaha me too! That fangirls for that movie were intense.

Leave a Reply

