I Formally Challenge You!

That’s a very cryptic title isn’t it? I know. Now that you’re thoroughly intrigued I reckon it’s appropriate for me to explain what the heck I’m babbling about.

2016 is two blocks away and it’s imperative that I challenge myself or I’ll read a bunch of smut…that’s not the right word. Nonetheless, one day I was bored and decided to create a challenge for myself, and all my wonderful blog followers!

A) If you’re not interested that’s okay.

B) If you’re not to sure about certain challenges, you can pick and choose the ones you’d like to complete and begin anytime you’d like.

C) If you’re interested in the entire challenge then I hope you enjoy and tag me on here or twitter @book_addicts55. You’re impatient, I can feel it, therefore I’ll show you the challenge.

https://49.media.tumblr.com/4b49c1c3ec0da665363bf65f5b7bef77/tumblr_mi697tvgC51rs57eeo1_500.gif

That’s not it.

This is it:

chosen challenge image

I know these are pretty easy (*uncontrollable snicker*), but it’s just to get the year started! It might be corny, but I would love for you guys to join me on this challenge. Although it’s unlikely I’ll complete the last one – my French is terrible and my Spanish leaves a lot to be desired – so don’t expect ME to complete 100% of it.

It’s past time that I wrap this post up and leave you to decipher if you’ll accept this challenge

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “I Formally Challenge You!

  1. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    Ooh this is interesting- not sure if I’ll participate (just cos I’m so disorganised I never sign up for things or say I’m gonna do something if I don’t know I can definitely do it) but I might give it a go! I really love these challenges as well πŸ˜€ I’m particularly looking forward to finding a book with a main character with an awesome name! The main one I doubt I’ll do is a retelling of my favourite story- cos I’ve never enjoyed those. I can’t imagine I’ll be reading a book in a foreign language any time soon either- though it’d be nice to dream- maybe I’ll run into a genie (speaking all the languages in the world would be one of my three wishes). I really have to read the first novel on my tbr now though!

    • Codie says:

      I completely understand, but if you do decide to jump in at anytime I’ll look forward to seeing what you’ve read. But aren’t these challenges fun! I’ll probably try to complete about 3, not including my own, so I’m not in a book bore next year. Hahaha you could have any job in the world with that talent, but you wouldn’t need it with a genie in your pocket. I’m glad you like the actual challenges though…I was skeptical about a few of them.

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        Definitely! They really are awesome! Oh definitely- three is manageable. Haha well, my plan is to use the other wishes to get superpoewers, and then I can be a vigilante. Basically, I’ll need the speaking all the languages thing so I can save people all around the world- cos I always wondered how Superman managed to get around in countries where he couldn’t understand what they’re saying- I mean he could’ve made tons of mistakes (Can you tell I’ve really thought this through?) yeah there’s a couple I’m not sure about, but loads of them are great πŸ˜€

      • Codie says:

        Haha wow that’s very thought out, but still commendable! Who uses a genie and ask to help people – that’s awesome. And with the language thing maybe it’s like a Doctor Who, where the cape translates and adapts lol, I don’t Know. Which superpower besides knowing every language would you want?

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        haha well, I mostly just want to be a superhero- but I don’t want to go to the effort of actually learning martial arts or becoming a billionaire :p (basically just describing batman :p ) haha I never thought about that! I mean he is an alien… telekinesis would probably be one- cos you can use it to move stuff and fly (so it’s a 2 in 1) Awesome fighting skills for the other? I change my mind about that a lot. What would you choose?

      • Codie says:

        Haha batman is great, but your description is hilarious. When it comes to Superman so many people don’t know that he’s an alien! They think he’s like an all-American hero….yet he’s from another planet.

        Your theories are better than some of the others I’ve heard, plus telekinesis is awesome. I think I’d want the power of persuasion. I could persuade my enemies and bad guys to not do things. But then again, I would like to be super badass like Mystique or storm…so many decisions. Maybe a power where I have all powers…

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        haha. wait what? How do they not know that?? Have they not watched the films/read a comic/used google/ever had a conversation with anyone? That just *does not compute*? Do they not know why kryptonite is, well, his kryptonite?
        (Just as I was typing all that made up jargon, I realised it’s probably a little absurd that I’m expecting people to know this)
        It is! Oh that’s a good choice- I did want a professor x type power for ages, which is similar, but moved on to the kind where I could hold my own in a fight more. Oh my goodness- I didn’t even think of Mystique and Storm, those are fabulous powers! (Probably Storm more than Mystique, just cos I’d rather not actually be blue) Haha oh see, I did have a wish that was similar, but I had it play out in my imagination and it didn’t go so well :p

      • Codie says:

        Some people don’t read, watch, or have the general idea of superheros. It’s really terrible. I knew this girl once who argued me down that I didn’t know what I was talking about regarding Superman not being a human being from Earth…I had to walk away. But Professor X power just seem soooo extra and annoying, like I’d get tired of being in other people’s head, plus I can’t focus on one thing long enough to actually focus – hints the reason I read 5 books at once. I forgot she was blue (I have no idea why I didn’t think of that) and even though she can change into other people, she never really had her OWN identity which sucks, so I’d have to go with storm too. You can zap all the bad guys with lightning or something. We should ask the genie to give us the best power! It’ll solve everything πŸ˜€

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        Well some people are daft- or maybe I’m daft for loving superhero movies too much. Oh gosh, I don’t know how you didn’t just laugh in her face, cos that’s too funny. Yeah, that’s why I changed my mind about it- I don’t think I *want* to hear what people are thinking- I mean it’s not just that it might be bad, it’ll probably just be people listing the things they’ve got to do like “oh I forgot to buy milk”. Haha I know the feeling! (I’m reading 3 right now) Exactly, and she’s all depressed about it. I know, that is an epic power! Yeah but what if the genie is a trickster- you have to be careful with these things or you could end up with two heads or something- or worse: you could end up with something really boring, like the power of hindsight :/

      • Codie says:

        Nope, it’s them. Superhero movies are awesome. I think I was just so baffled that someone could be that uniformed, yet adamant. But that would get annoying, plus hearing everyone’s thoughts – there are some crazy people out there, I would never feel safe. That’s true. Genies are like pirates – conniving and tricky. Hahaha the power of hindsight would be terrible as a singular power.

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        Oh yeah, I never even thought about how crazy people can be too- that’d be terrifying. Also you wouldn’t know who was being serious in their thoughts and who wasn’t- it’d be really scary and it’d make you super paranoid :/ Yeah exactly

      • Codie says:

        Exactly, severe paranoia! That would make even the sanest person crazy. I would take that serum in X-Men: Days of Future Past.

  2. jessreadingnook says:

    I love book challenges….I’ll totally do it:) expect a post soonish. I won’t be able to finish the last one though…I know Russian but not that well . Does a picture book count? πŸ˜‰ Just kidding.

    • Codie says:

      Yes!!!! Knowing any Russian in my book is impressive, and shoot I was going to stumble my way through a nice 18 pg, French Children’s Book lol. As long as all the words are not in your native tongue I say you’re good! I’m soooo excited you’re going to participate. Thank you πŸ™‚

    • Codie says:

      Thank you so much! I’m so excited you like it and that sounds mysterious and exciting, I can’t wait to see it. BTW, love the new look of your blog, it’s aces πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

