Nicholas Sparks [Movie]

Geeez!! It seems like all of Nicholas Sparks books are, or are becoming movies. Not to be negative but there isn’t much depth to most of Sparks books and they don’t translate to the big screen very well, or they transfer so well that it shows how cheesy his books actually are, although I did enjoy The Notebook and A Walk to Remember. I’ve read 3 or 4 of Sparks books,ย The Wedding, The Notebook, A Walk to Remember, A Bend in the Road, and The Lucky One.ย Putting up all of these trailers would take me forever and I just don’t feel like it, so maybe you can look it up the rest.

27 thoughts on “Nicholas Sparks [Movie]

  1. authorswilliams says:

    I like his books better than the movies. I actually think most of them are well done. But I heard that most of the books he writes turn into movies because he also writes the screenplay Or he knows the screenwriter. Perhaps he has Uber connections. I would not doubt..

  2. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    This trend drives me crazy too- not that I dislike his writing (I’ve not read any of it, so I have no opinion) but I just find the films pretty generic. I didn’t find Lucky One too bad, or A Walk to Remember, but I’ve got to be the only person on the planet who hated The Notebook

    • Codie says:

      Lol, you’re not the only one. When I first watched it I was in love, but later on I just couldn’t get into it – similar to Twilight. I did however, enjoy the novel by Sparks. His books tend to be too similar and formulaic to me, without any suspense or mystery to keep me interested. I’d love your opinion if you ever decide to read one of his novels!

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        Haha thank goodness for that! It’s one of my sister’s favourite movies, but it just makes me so mad! Mostly because I can’t stand how the main character is a two timer, but somehow that’s ok, because “true love”- according to that film being in love gives you an excuse to be a jerk. That and the fact that it has no plot. Hmm I might pick it up, but not gonna lie, you’re not selling it to me :p

      • Codie says:

        Yeah, I don’t like characters that play with their love interest emotions and it’s hard to sympathize with her in the movie, but in the book it’s a bit better. But I completely agree with you about the movie, it’s nerve-wrecking and I felt like my time was wasted when it ended because I didn’t even get action like in Mad Max: Fury. Haha I would try, but to be candid, it’s not appealing enough! It’s mushy and only interesting if you’re feeling all gooey and sappy. When you get into that mood, if ever, then you’ll like it. Was that kind of a sell lol?

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        Yeah exactly, I just couldn’t relate. Haha well I wasn’t expecting Mad Max :p but it would have been nice if they hadn’t glossed over the war and if *something* had happened in it. Haha well that was a sell to me- I definitely get in the mood for gooey, sappy stuff from time to time- so I probably will check it out next time I’m feeling like reading something like that

      • Codie says:

        Me neither. The original is a serious Aussie Classic and focused on MAX not Furiosa (I have no idea if that’s smelled right). Plus, there was NO plot and not enough MAX. But anytime I get to see Tom Hardy and mindless action, I’m in.

        And Lol yes! Nailed it ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Codie says:

        You’ve never seen the original Mad Max??? You should definitely stop everything you’re doing and watch it. It’s an epic dystopian movie.

      • Codie says:

        Definitely! It’s before Mel Gibson got totally crazy, which means the acting is good and it’s a great watch for semi-post apocalyptic, dystopian fans.

      • Codie says:

        Braveheart was awesome. One of Gibson’s best, but if you enjoy that you have to watch the Mad Max series.

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        Oh definitely! I love that film! (Although surprisingly, if you mention that film to a Scotsman they will scream “it’s not historically accurate!” Apparently “Braveheart is inaccurate! is a really common history lesson in Scotland. Awesome!

      • Codie says:

        Lol, really? I no absolutely zero about Scottish history besides what I picked up on Outlander before I stopped watching it (waaaaay too much rape for me). I have to do that one day though, just to see the reaction. But yeah, wonderful movie.

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        haha I haven’t seen that, but you’re not selling it to me :p I lived in Scotland for a bit and thought it was smart to watch Braveheart before I went- turns out not so much, cos they don’t like that film. Haha angry Scotsmen are a sight to behold, so be my guest :p Oh definitely, I think I might have watched it twice in a row the first time (in fact, I know I did)

      • Codie says:

        That’s really cool, you living in Scotland. And that’s hilarious! I wonder what would’ve happened if you said that’s like your favorite movie or something :’) Only certain movies are good enough to watch twice in one sitting. I did that when I first saw Southpaw. The movie wasn’t amazing but I have a thing for fighters and movies about professional fighting, and Jake without a shirt so it’s a win, win, win ๐Ÿ™‚ & Hahaha I can only sell for you to not watch it. It’s like every other scene was a rape. I actually started to time when they were coming. Either rape or just a nude scene, or a sex scene.

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        Haha well I can be a bit of a windup, so every time it came up, I’d go on and on about how much I loved that movie :p I can’t say I do that very often- if I like a movie, it’s always quite tempting, but I try to have a bit of self control- cos obviously, it’s not the best idea. But I have to say, I don’t think I can physically watch the LOTR series without going back to the start at the end- because I have a serious, serious problem :p haha that sounds awful!

      • Codie says:

        Lol, the expression must be hilarious. They have those kind of movies here, of course not Braveheart. But yeah, restraint isn’t something I’m good at – it’s not one of my qualities lol. YESS! LOTR is one of my favorite movies and it’s almost impossible to not rewatch it. & it really really was. I made it 6 episodes before I gave up.

      • Codie says:

        Yeah, they have so much charm. I thought the same would’ve happened with The Hobbit trilogy but…nope. Especially since they made up most of it, because the book didn’t have all of that.

      • Codie says:

        Haha, I know right – I was soooo confused with the story line after movie 1. Tolkein would probably have a fit if he would’ve seen the movies.

Leave a Reply

