Beautiful Chaos (Beautiful Creatures Book 3) by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

518jnpdoofl1 out of 5 stars

Ethan Wate thought he was getting used to the strange, impossible events happening in Gatlin, his small Southern town. But now that Ethan and Lena have returned home from the Great Barrier, strange and impossible have taken on new meanings. Swarms of locusts, record-breaking heat, and devastating storms ravage Gatlin as Ethan and Lena struggle to understand the impact of Lena’s Claiming. Even Lena’s family of powerful Supernaturals is affected — and their abilities begin to dangerously misfire. As time passes, one question becomes clear: What — or who — will need to be sacrificed to save Gatlin?

For Ethan, the chaos is a frightening but welcome distraction. He’s being haunted in his dreams again, but this time it’s not Lena — and the mysterious figure is following him out of his dreams and into his everyday life. Worse, Ethan is gradually losing pieces of himself — forgetting names, phone numbers, even memories. He doesn’t know why, and he’s afraid to ask.

Sometimes there’s no going back. And this time there won’t be a happy ending.

 


!!!I DID NOT FINISH THIS BOOK!!!

Finishing books have always filled me with a source of pride, so when I realized completing this book wasn’t likely I rejected this defeat!  That is until page 346 and it’s like I hit a wall – my eyes glazed over, hands cramped, and my mind just blanked. This was the day I said, “I’m calling it!” After countless pages of repetitive scenes and annoying character actions I literally couldn’t take it anymore.  I closed the book and set it on my shelf to collect dust.  It’s possible that I’ll come back to it after some time, but for now it’ll remain there.

Problem One:

The characters in this book are terrible. Ethan started out as this cute, love-struck boy in book one, but now his loyalty to Lena is stupid, his willingness to put zero blame on her is stupid, and his irrational treatment of the physical impact she has on him is stupid. Every time Lena kisses him she’s basically killing him, but that’s alright because… what? There isn’t an explanation, plus his treatment of Liv was NOT cool…especially since I liked her character. Oh, and how could I forget the little (sarcasm) hints about Ethan losing his memory and losing himself blah blah blah.

I’ve expressed my dislike for Lena countless times on GR but never on here, so it’s my responsibility to rectify this. What words could be used to describe Lena’s character besides, Selfish, Annoying, Immature, Depressing for no reason. Boohoo, she she has mommy issues, so what! There are many more words, but I reckoned I’d lay it on lightly. She’s jealous of Liv, although she ran off with John Breed because no one understood her extremely deep, emotional turmoil (The Whiner).  Then after Liv saves her, she has the mettle to be a serious bitch!  Not to mention she’s always about to cast on someone with her stupid powers.  I’m still befuddled about what makes her light at all, she’s supposed to be gray -the place between light and dark – but all I see is dark caster.  I don’t even want to blab about her anymore.

Although I like Link as a character they totally went right over him being a freaking incubus! Mortal to Demon and we’re not even talking about this? How is that even possible?

Seriously!

Whatever, Like I said Link’s character is cool but that whole Ridley and Link romance is not funny or fun, it’s immature and annoying – perfect words to describe Ridley. In book 1 and 2 I liked Ridley but in this book she’s just not doing it for me.

Amma was being  secretive and mean for no reason. After books 1 and 2 you’d think they’d learn not to keep secrets, but obviously Amma didn’t learn her lesson and her character hasn’t grown or changed at all from all the other books.

https://i2.wp.com/cdn.hitfix.com/photos/5128125/A-Holes.gif

Problem Two:

Yes. I skipped ahead to the end to read the last chapter, and to be candid I’m relieved I didn’t read the 200 pages that remained. With an ending as anti-climatic as that I’m surprised people were still interested in reading b00k 4! There’s nothing separating  this novel from the other two in the series and nothing magnetizing me toward it either.

Problem Three:

https://mckelleblogs.files.wordpress.com/2014/06/disgust.gif?w=620

(have I ever expressed my obsession with Marlon Brando? No. Well I’m obsessed with Marlon Brando.)

These have to be the absolute worst villains I’ve ever had the displeasure of reading. Abraham and Sarafine. Why must we suffer the torture of this boring tale of how she was dark but rejected that fate (similar to Lena) and tried to live normally; until Abraham comes around and tempts her to the dark side (literally in this instance) because her power is unsurpassed.

Bull-shiitake my mushroom

If you’re going to deliver bad hero’s then give me solid villains, like Iago in Othello.

Thanks for reading this semi-rant, semi-review of this whole (see what I did there) terrible novel. I’m not even going to leave a link to purchase the book.

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Beautiful Chaos (Beautiful Creatures Book 3) by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

  1. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    Haha fantastic review!! Gosh this book sounds terrible- I’m glad I never bothered with this series now- by the sound of it I dodged a bullet! (PS I love Marlon Brando too!! Ever since I saw him in the godfather I’ve been half in love with him)

    • Codie says:

      You really did! The first book was okay, but after that they just got worse until it escalated to terrible. *claps hands* Yes, most people don’t understand the greatness of Brando! He’s one of the greatest actors of all time. Thanks so much!!

  2. Pingback: Book Sacrfice Tag
  3. Pingback: Skyrim Book Tag

Leave a Reply

