John Green [Movie]

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m currently reading Paper Towns by John Green, which will be my first John Green novel. Is it to early to say I’m not a fan of Mr. Green…probably, so I’m not gonna go that far, yet. I’m not the biggest fan of teenage romance novels, which, if we’re being honest, is all these books are. I’ve seen The Fault in Our Stars but not Paper Towns, and the other two movies haven’t been released yet. Looking for Alaska has a release date of 2016 just like Let It Snow, so keep your eyes open for those. Check out the trailers below:

17 thoughts on “John Green [Movie]

  1. Day says:

    I unfortunately feel the book was superior to the movie. My opinions on that are because the theme or style of the book did not come across in the film and actor choices were not what I had envisioned in the story. Was the movie good, yes. Was it great, no (for me). – Day from Night Vs Day.

    • Codie says:

      Somehow this comment ended up in my spam file, which is why my reply is so late – I’m so sorry! But this is for Paper Towns right? If so, I’ve been getting that a lot! People felt the book just captured more of what they enjoyed about the the novel than the movie could. Some books just really aren’t meant for the big screen because it doesn’t translate well. Having seen the movie and read the book you’re a great critic. Thanks for your input πŸ™‚

  2. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    Not gonna lie, I’m not a massive fan of John Green either- I’ve read 2 of his books now and I can’t see myself picking up another one. It’s not that they’re YA romance, it’s that they’re a bit too pretentious for my taste (and not good enough to warrant any literary credit) (I realise that’s a bit harsh, especially since if I continue down this route I might very well get lynched by all the John Green fans on the internet)

    • Codie says:

      Haha yeah, John Green has a serious fan base, but I just don’t understand it! You’re exactly right in regard to the literary credit; when I got wind that he was supposed to be like a contemporary literary genius for YA I was like… WHAT? But yeah, pretentious is a marvelous word to describe Paper Towns so far. Which books of his did you read, if you don’t mind me asking?

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        Agreed! I don’t get it either. I don’t mind at all. I read the Fault In Our Stars (which was predictable and pretentious) and Looking for Alaska (which was even more predictable and pretentious). I disliked Looking for Alaska, whereas I was just disappointed by Fault In Our Stars 😦

      • Codie says:

        Yeah, with The Fault in Our Stars it’s like the obvious choice is to do the “unexpected”. I’m still confused about what Looking for Alaska is about. I read the summary and was just confused about why someone would write a book about…nothing? I feel you in all your words – my disappointment level with Paper Towns is quite high. Bravo to you for finishing those two novels!

      • theorangutanlibrarian says:

        Yeah it’s a really weird book- and it was kind of spoiled for me by the fact that I’d seen John Green’s video about his school life, where he talks about all the things he did at school= which pretty much summarises everything that happens in the book. I swear, he took the mantra “write what you know” a little too literally, cos it’s basically a really dull autobiography. Honestly, cos of all the hype I expected much more- so I completely agree with you. I think I only read the second one cos I thought maybe I was wrong for not liking The Fault in Our Stars 😦

  3. Olivia Emily says:

    I’m a big fan of YA romance, so I should be a big fan of John Green…yet I’m not. I think his characters live very sheltered lived and are all very selfish. I’ve read 3 of his books (The Fault in Our Stars, Looking for Alaska, and Paper Towns), and the characters are always very samey. I can’t fault his writing per sΓ©, but his characters are awful as are his storylines. (Girl dooms herself, boy tries to save her, blah blah blah)

    • Codie says:

      Haha Yes! That generic formula of boy meets damaged girl and plays hero is just so boring! I also agree that his characters are bad – they’re dry and unrelatable that it’s painful to read at times. I’m reading Paper Towns now and Margo isn’t a fun character, nor is she interesting but for some odd reason he paints her in this animated light. And if I read one more time about how pretty or beautiful she is again I might scream. Love how easily you summed John Green up!

      • Olivia Emily says:

        I literally agree with everything you just said! I was thinking all the same things when I was reading it (sigh). It’s actually a shame because he’s a good writer, just not a great character writer…

      • Codie says:

        I agree, it’s a waste. Some writers have the imagination and characterization but not the best writing skills, while he’s the exact opposite – an author with nothing to say, yet written beautifully.

Leave a Reply

