A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

51utve6d4ol

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She’s inherited Sherlock’s volatility and some of his vices—and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she’s not looking for friends.

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.


When I first saw this novel on Goodreads my excitement level was on minimum one thousand.  I spent hours trying to solve a very important predicament…WHAT GIF TO USE! I know this seems trivial and stupid, but being a serious Sherlock Holmes fan made me question which Sherlock I was going to use – Jonny Lee Miller, Benedict Cumberbatch, Robert Downey Jr., Jeremy Brett, Peter Cushing, Christopher Lee (although he was a bad Sherlock), Basil Rathbone, Ian McKellen, Christopher Plummer, and the many different actors and adaptations of the iconic novel by Sir Arthur Conan. Therefore in the end I decided on a rather neutral person:

soexcited

(I mean what sane person doesn’t LOVE Tom?)

Anyway, I guess it’s painfully obvious that I sorta like Sherlock Holmes and this book appears to be a clever spin on the original novel A Study in Scarlet. With a female Sherlock, so I’m impatiently awaiting its release…but it’s not available until March 1, 2016!

Click cover to pre-order

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s