On The Edge of Love (Mama’s Brood # 1) by Shay Rucker

on_the_edge_of_love_Fotor

4.5 starts out of 5

★ ★ ★ ★ ★/★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Zeus is a knife wielding, crazy member of Mama’s Brood, who is hell bent on always getting what he wants and in this instance he want’s Sabrina. She’s an independent badass, who isn’t exactly a newbie when is comes to danger, so she’s not going to just jump into hiding for the sociopath trying to kidnap her, or the sexy god-named man intent on having her.


Fun Fact: I was originally only going to put Sabrina in the collage because I didn’t want to taint his magnificent character description. It’s usually not difficult to find models, actors, or just regular people online to fit the description of a character but Zeus was extremely difficult until I remember the television series ‘Spartacus’. Jai Courtney fit the description beautifully, and he’s GORGEOUS! 

♥♥♥

My reaction:

♥♥♥

Pros: 

  • Zeus – Oh. My. God. When I first read the summary for this novel, I was more than a bit skeptical, to be more specific my reaction was, “Great! Another jackass, wannabe badass, ‘hero’ that’s shitty to the heroine who just takes it.” However, despite my doubts I continued (based off the great reviews by trusted Goodreads reviewers) and I’m extremely happy I did. Don’t get me wrong he’s arrogant, possessive, antisocial, and deadly but somehow that’s what makes him so damn appealing. Zeus has to be on my top 3 for ‘Badass Boyfriend” list, and this is for good reason. He’s humorous without trying to be and makes you hate and love him all the same. That being said, there were some WTF moments where I questioned his sanity beyond his average crazy.
  • Sabrina – Yeah, she’s the perfect heroine. She’s a serious badass (that I wish could’ve showcased her skills) with a no-nonsense attitude and isn’t the helpless mistress with insecurities or the need to be comforted by our hero. No, Sabrina was her own hero in many ways and as the novel progressed you’ll just love her feisty character, I know she one of my favorite female characters.
  • Plot – This was an awesome plot – especially for the IR genre, which tends to follow the same formula – that’ll keep you intrigued the entire time. Although not a real mystery novel it is filled with action (I mean how often does a novel begin with a guy disemboweling people?), humor, and an alluring romance. With the kidnapping of Sabrina we get into the head of a sociopath and meet Mama’s Brood
  • Safety – I hate when authors don’t allow their characters to use condoms, although this is an issue that some might not care about, it’s bothersome for me. So, the fact that this author took the time to mention it was awesome for me.
  • Mama’s Brood – The characters in Mama’s Brood were excellent and not overpowering as some groups or organization themed series are. They’re all funny and fun and I can’t wait to explore their brood further.

Cons:

  • Information – The only negative to this novel is that I wanted more! An increase in information would have been amazing. Like more detail into Zeus’ childhood as well as Sabrina’s. It was good without it, however a couple of flashbacks would have been amazballs. I would say there’s a chance for that in the second novel in the series, however the next book will probably be about some of the other characters in Mama’s Brood.

♥♥♥

Overall, this novel surpassed my expectations and ended up being amazing. If you want an intriguing story with badass characters that aren’t self-absorbed or have a large amount of insecurities and stupid conflicts that amount to nothing, then On the Edge of Love is the novel for you. So, feel free to purchase it below:

On_the_edge_cover

Buy

42 thoughts on “On The Edge of Love (Mama’s Brood # 1) by Shay Rucker

      • phobo55 says:

        OMG me too! I loved her characters, and everything was so well developed for a first publication. She’s definitely an author to look out for.

      • phobo55 says:

        In the IR genre ? Hmm Pepper Pace, Shyla Colt, Zenobia Renquist, Sienna Mynx, Love me some Kenya Wright, Zena Wynn, Savannah J Frierson, Billy London, Shelly Laurenston Etc. lol I know that’s a lot. What about you?

      • ebonysmonaesthoughts says:

        I have read most of those authors Pepper Pace just speaks to you with her words, Kenya Wright she takes for ever to finish a series but love her too. I’m going to look up the other ones. Do you have a goodreads? So excited I met a book buddy lol. Lately I have been into Tiana Laveen her latest novels blew me away. Love Raven St. Pierre and Victoria H. Smith. Theodora Taylor, Travion Burns. My favorite book that I’m still in love with is Fangirl Squeal by Jackie Chanel love that book. Last but not least Colleen Hoover (she’s not an IR writer but she’s an amazing author)! Currently I’m reading Mr. Daniels (it’s a tear jerker).

      • phobo55 says:

        Doesn’t she – I love her characters too they’re so unique. You’re so right about Kenya Wright, I’ve been waiting forever for the next book in the Habitat series but it’s so worth it lol. I do have a goodreads! Here’s the link https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/3095876-codie-papageorgiou. Yes!! How could I forget Tiana Laveen! Her books are so awesome and complete unlike so many IR novels. I have s book by Raven St. Pierre but I haven’t read it yet…is she really good? I’ve heard of Victoria H. Smith but not Travion Burns so that’ll be awesome to check out. Ooh goodie !! A new author – which genre does she write?

      • ebonysmonaesthoughts says:

        I added you on Goodreads and Raven is an great author, her books speaks to the reader. Trevion Burns needs some work her last novels I did not care for but her first ones were great. My personal favorite was Stereo and Dead or Alive, those are great IR books. Colleen Hoover writes young adult books but sadly not IR. She is one of my favorite authors you can tell she puts thought into her work.

      • phobo55 says:

        Yay! And I think I’m going to finally read the book I brought like months ago by her, It’s so hard to find good IR novels. When it comes to Burns I’ll check those out first because it’s a reco. I’ve been reading ALOT of YA fiction lately, like I just read the Conyza Bennett trilogy by Cheryl S. Ntumy, which you have to read, and I’m reading two YA novels now…so while I’m in the YA mode I’m gonna check her out!

      • ebonysmonaesthoughts says:

        Okay will do also check out Brittiany C Cherry just read a book by her. I don’t really read young adults cuz I’m old now lol but lately is all I can read because I have been finding some great authors. I will deff check out those authors.

      • phobo55 says:

        Yeah, I’ve been starting to think that myself because sometimes the characters are just too juvenile, but there are still some real good ones. I know Brittiany C. Cherry! The Air He Breaths…that cover is mesmerizing lol, I cannot wait to read it.

      • phobo55 says:

        Please, Please, Please tell me how you like it, lol I know I’m begging but that cover is so worth it. He’s soooooo hot but to know he also has tattoos is just too much for me senses. And omg yes!!! I have an entire board on Pinterest dedicated to that exact thing. It’s the perfect combo .

      • phobo55 says:

        I cannot wait to read it! Especially since you loved it so much. It has definitely been bumped up my to-read list.

      • phobo55 says:

        I’m gonna start next week, it’s gonna be awesome. And I have to be honest erotica isn’t my genre but I’ll check her out just to try it. And by dark you mean no HEA?
        😦 I’ve read some dark that do but…

      • ebonysmonaesthoughts says:

        She had happy ending in the Strangeher Love books. It was the first I read by her. It was a tad confusing at first to get the plot of everything. She loved to write about taboo subjects. So this book had rape, drug abuse, gays, backstabbing friends, love, growth and it kind of had it all lol.

      • phobo55 says:

        So sorry for the late reply! My internet was acting up, and my phone broke(!), however I’m a huge fan of books with real, dark topics. There isn’t a huge market for those with HEA though 😦 That novel sounds awesome (I read the summary)! If you have more suggestions please, please send me them through Goodreads 🙂

      • phobo55 says:

        Awesome, I’m gonna check it on GR. Ooooh is it a sequel to The Air He Breaths or is that a stand alone?

      • Codie says:

        Lol I hate when that happens but I love it too. I didn’t even start yet 😦 Because I was reading like 5 other books, but I finally finished Agatha Christie so I can start tonight!!! I’m too excited.

      • Codie says:

        Lol that’s crazy! But OMG me too, sometimes I look at my currently reading on GR and am like “really….I’m reading that?” it’s too much. What are you reading now? I finally started the book. It’s good so far.

      • ebonysmonaesthoughts says:

        YESSSSSS. I am kind of between books I am reading wanted now but the author is trying to hard for me. She’s trying to make it to 50 shades for me. She has a great story concept but she is trying to make it into something its not.

      • Codie says:

        I hate when authors do that, is it too hard to be original. But I never got into 50 shades. BDSM isn’t my thing to read but a lot of people are following 50 shades trend right now. Just like zombies are the hot new thing.

      • ebonysmonaesthoughts says:

        I know, she has a good story line but stop trying to make it be something its not. I will say 50 shades was a good book, the movie not so much. I haven’t read any books with zombies in it but I have seen so many movies with them.

      • Codie says:

        That’s, sadly, a common problem. I still haven’t read 50 shades…It’s been on my TBR forever, but I heard most people liked the book but disliked the movie…a lot. That’s funny because it seems like all my post-apocalyptic books have been with zombies lately. But you’re right there are soooooo many zombie movies out there, it’s really crazy. Who would have thought that scary parasitic, undead, brain-eaters would be so popular.

      • Codie says:

        Lol, humans are so weird. And you obviously enjoyed it. I’m just not into too much sex in books and that book seems like that’s 80% of the plot…but idk. I’ll probably read it soon.

      • Natoi Coles says:

        Shay Rucker is that Deal!!!!! And I would recommend S.K Lessly Desired and Tiffany Patterson The Black Burlesque Series and Ancelli Perfectly Mixed and Blue Saffire The Brother’s Black And Phoenix Daniels Creed.

      • Codie says:

        Yeah, she really is! Do you know when book 2 is coming out? Oh yes, I did enjoy Desired it was fast-paced and had a movie feel to it. I’ll check out The Black Burlesque Series – that name is intriguing! I’m in LOVE with Blue Saffire right now…she’s awesome. Thanks for the recos 😀

      • Natoi Coles says:

        You are so welcome enjoy!!! Nikola & Andre are the truth!!!! Raul is a sweetie but those two have merci!!

Leave a Reply

