Zora and Nicky: A Novel in Black and White by Claudia Mair Burney

Image

3 ½ out of 5

★ ★ ★/ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Zora and Nicky are both looking for approval from their preacher fathers. Zora is an aspiring artist but is not allowed to pursue her passion because her father controls her with money. Nicky is a reformed playboy, prodigal son that has a love for literature. So when he comes back home to “make things right” with his racist father he loses sight of what is truly important. They both are searching for true love in the form of the Lord, being tired of the façade surrounding their lives. And when they’re thrown off by the magnetic pull toward them,  in the end will they abandon all the rules, or well they remain in the roles of Black and White?

This is a novel that is either hit or miss, meaning that you’ll either like it or you won’t. I personally did not care for the novel, it was boring and too Christian for me to get the composition of the plot. Zora and Nicky where both adults yet they behaved like they were teenagers, and after a while it just gets tiresome.

♥♥♥

My Reaction:

I'm_bored

♥♥♥

Pros:

  • Minor Characters – In many novels the main characters are written exquisitely and minor characters are written with no depth,  just as fillers, but this is not the case in Zora and Nicky. Ms. Claudia (fix) writes very colorful 3-dimensional minor  characters that are truly original.
  • Realism – Some of the problems that were in this were very real in this novel. The racism aspect and the belief that you can lose God sometimes in the crap we go through.
  • Theme – If you read a lot of Christian Fiction you’ll probably enjoy this, although it is not my genre. I found myself wishing it would just get to the end of the, but for people who enjoy a spiritual journey will love it.

Con’s

  • Zora – Maybe it’s just me liking my female leads to be independent women that made me dislike her so much. She never seemed to really have an identity, it was so weird how she “found” herself but then didn’t have anything to show for it.
  • Genre – I just don’t like Christian Fiction
  • Absurdity – While some things were very realistic, others were downright out of this world dramatic. The whole scene with her father, whether symbolic or not is of no meaning because it was ludicrous.
  • Too Long – I don’t believe it had to be this long, it was a very straightforward novel, that didn’t have to go completely off course sometimes just to have more pages.

These are my opinions and by all means read it and tell me what your opinion is, but for me it was an unfortunate miss.

Buy

Buy

3 thoughts on “Zora and Nicky: A Novel in Black and White by Claudia Mair Burney

  1. Guinevere Thomas says:

    Great review! I own this book. I actually own too many books to actually read them all, so I didnt know this was Christian fiction.

    I will probably still give it a chance because its interracial but hopefully its not a miss for me either 🙂

    • phobo55 says:

      Thank you! I know your plight when it comes to book ownership, my “library” is overloaded, just like my TBR list. I hope you enjoy the book more than I did, Guinevere 😀

Leave a Reply

