Where To Start (Non-Reader’s)

Image

Reading is something I used to regard with disgust and absolute horror, but I was a serious movie and television show fan. I watched Dawson’s Creek (still do actually), Supernatural, The Office, Friends, etc. and movies I watched absolutely everything, from From Dusk Till’ Dawn (George Clooney with that tattoo is hard not to watch) to Hot Fuzz (You’re a doctor deal with it!) but I could never quite bring myself to actually enjoy a book. That is until I had to find a book for school and discovered that books are just subtitled movies with no sound, well minus the movie pictures.

So, if you’re a movie lover you should start off reading novel that have been turned in to books, or movies that turned into books. Don’t limit yourself, and stay clear of classics unless you really are interested in reading them because some stories are just boring. Start off with novels that are exciting, entertaining and super fun to read. Pick a genre that you enjoy and find books that reflect that theme.

These are some of my genre suggestions (which of course you don’t have to try) for Non-Reader’s to start:

  • Humor – Sometimes the words in books don’t seem as overwhelming when the author has hilarious characters, dialogue’s, and perspectives.
  • Graphic Novels – There is true beauty in graphic novels because they’re, usually, short and have pictures to go with the story. Another plus is that most graphic novels are filled with dialogue not just perspective writing.
  • YA Fiction – YA Fiction is one of those hit or miss genre’s when it pertains to reading. So try a book out and see if you like it, try something that was a movie like The Princess Diaries Series,The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Series, (although it wasn’t good) Twilight Series, The Chronicles of Narnia Series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, etc. 
  • Fantasy, Paranormal, Sci-Fi (short books) – If you’re all about watching movie that have to do with alternate universes, supernatural beings, or a land of witches and unicorns, you need to read short novels like this.
  • Romance – Romance was a genre I got into accidently, I picked up I Thee Wed by Amanda Quickand I never looked back. For a new reader to truly enjoy romance they need to find their sub-romance genre, because if you’re a contemporary you most likely don’t want to read an historical.

I would stay clear of certain genre’s as a new reader, but do not eliminate them all as a whole. Here are some of the stay-away genre’s I suggest:

  • Classics – Classics just aren’t for everyone, some only read them, other avoid it like the plague, but it’s really about what you prefer. My advice is to try a classical novel and see if you enjoy it.
  • Boring Non-Fiction – I’m not a fan of non-fiction because I want to leave the world when I read not stay in it.
  • Long Books – The first book I tried to read was Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and quickly realized my mistake was +700 pages. So choose your books carefully and looking at the page number because it is a factor in your decisions when selecting a title.
  • Hardcore Literature – Hardcore Literature is stuff like Ayn Rand writes. It’s deep, complex and oh so tiring to read. Wait until you’ve mastered reading novels that before you start reading novels that are so complex it’s got you seeing out your ass. Just hold off on this for a very long time.
  • Most Poetry – Some poetry is fun and easy to read like Dr. Seuss, but others are just maddening, although good, like Walt Whitman and Charles Bukowski. But try it out before you completely discount it thinking it’s too hard.

While this list may work for some people, it may be not be as successful with others. This is the reason why you have to experiment and not be afraid to open your mind up to the endless possibilities of reading. And to find specific titles that you might find interesting to convert to bookism I suggest Goodreads.com. It’s a fantastic website that I’ve been a member of since forever so go join! My profile: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/3095876-codie-papageorgiou

Image

2 thoughts on “Where To Start (Non-Reader’s)

Leave a Reply

